top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

A Clarification...


Promote the Vote, 2018 was created for no other reason except to promote voting in Windsor's municipal election. There is no crusade to topple one or all incumbents. I do believe, as sure as I believe the sun will rise tomorrow, a greater voter turnout will result in a more representative council. No matter if it's a Homeowner's Association, a bowling league or city council, the more people involved in a decision, the better the outcome and the greater the support for that outcome.


I'm not saying I don't have biases, I do. I don't think the current Mayor is a good leader. I don't like him. I believe Windsor will be a better place without him. I believe there is far more to this city than he knows. I care about the people, he cares about what the Corporation of the City of Windsor looks like on paper. I believe our city if full of bright, creative, wonderful individuals that have the potential to make good ideas great ideas. The Mayor acts as if he always knows best. Dilkens and I have basic philosophical differences. I have never claimed anything else. This blog refers to Windsor's Council, and I've done my best to be fair to all challengers. The system inherently favours the incumbents, so it all comes out even.


There is no organization or group or government agency responsible for engaging the public and promoting the vote. In June, I attended a workshop regarding Windsor's municipal election. It served as a reminder that every single person can make a difference. Each individual needs to be the change they want to see. I want to see a Council that better reflects the wishes of the people. To get this type of Council, Windsor needs people to VOTE.


Nothing scares a politician more than an electorate committed to voting. I believe this. I am dedicated to getting as many people to the polls as I can. I have no issue accepting whatever Council is elected by the people when: the system is fair and voter's vote. If a byproduct of these beliefs happens to be a majority of new faces in Council chambers, so be it!


Make your feelings known on OCTOBER 22. VOTE! Because we ALL matter.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page