top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Don't let me down, Ward 10!!

It’s arrived! The election for a new municipal government is today, October 22. I’ve nagged and discussed everyone I know about the importance of becoming engaged in the election. Some care, some don’t. While I encourage everyone to VOTE according to their own beliefs, I will admit to telling 4 people how to vote. They weren’t going to the polls unless I told them who to choose. I obliged because I think my choices are fabulous!!


Unless a closet full of skeletons comes tumbling down onto someone’s floor or the RCMP crash into a person’s campaign headquarters to lay charges against the candidate, my mind is made up. There choices are only based on MY opinion. I will accept whatever government is elected but we MUST have better voter turnout so I know the elected representatives have support.


As you wait anxiously, my Ward 10 summation:

WARD 10: UGH!! We have eight candidates. I’ll argue there are really only five as Olivia Ashak, Wally Chafchak and Borrelli deserve absolutely NO consideration. The first two have there name on the ballot but are not campaigning. THESE TWO are the living definition of vote splitters. I can’t fathom another four years with the incumbent. I don’t think there are many who can. I’ve see a couple of signs for Borrelli but the signs have been put up because of a personal relationship NOT his performance as Councillor. For crying out loud, the man brought people from other wards and other municipalities to cheer for him at the debates. These people's vote doesn't count.


The remaining five have been actively campaigning but there hasn’t been much mud slinging. All platforms are different with each candidate offering a different skill set. Personally, I like it when there are three choices, it’s a good number. If I were to eliminate two of the candidates, a particular part of Ward 10 is going to have their voice eliminated. If any of the campaigns were similar, I would have initiated a conversation about vote splitting. Again, each candidate offers something different so it depends on your ideals and beliefs.

Sadiq Pirani is all about transportation. Multi-modal transportation. Mark Masonovich is an effective Paul Borrelli. He wants to hold the line on taxes, look at value for dollars spent. Mo Chams wants to bring an office, a core to Ward 10. I love the idea but I don’t know if it’s a priority. Jim Morrison barely lost to Borrelli in 2014. Since then, demographics have shifted and the youth vote is of great importance. For many young people, a vote for Morrison is replacing one old white dude with another. Michael Patterson is for the little guy. He will be accessible to everybody and believes an abundance of of little improvements while result in big changes.


Vote splitting is a side effect here. Nobody is stealing another’s vote. These five candidates have five different platforms. As a voter, one must decide their own priorities and how best to get things done. Then, choose the candidate you feel best speaks for you. There will NEVER be 100% agreement. You are going to like some decisions and despise others, but which candidate best represents your opinions.


My vote is Mike Patterson. I’m about process, how things are done. Because Mike is new to the game, I feel he’s going to make a point to learn the rules. If you know anything about me, it’s that I like people playing by the rules. He’s a personable guy that likes to visit with people. And he’s young. On top of everything else, he understands sewers and the flooding problem. Did you know he owns Windsor Electric Eel? He was careful not to become a one issue candidate.


I believe my message is clear, I want change in Windsor. I believe in Windsor and the people living here. I want a council that feels that way as well. For any of this, any change at all, voter turnout MUST increase. If it stays the same or drops, we will have the same Council.


Share that message with all the newbies you know and maybe it will scare them into voting.

October 22, bring a newbie to the polls and VOTE! Need a ride, leave a message.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page