top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

I love Windsor

Updated: Sep 16, 2018


Today's logic is brought to you from Cuba.


Hubby and I visit there regularly. Vegas used to be our vacation spot but it got too big and we got too old. Now we have Cuban friends and favourite places to go and we miss it when we're not there. We also tend to learn many life lessons when we visit.


We were in Cuba right after hurricane season. The North American media got caught up with Hurricanes Irma and Harvey in 2017. Cuba was the victim of 5 hurricanes that same year. When we arrived, we noticed differences but nothing that couldn't be replaced. We did hear fantastic stories about everyday heroes. This is where I choose to focus.


After listening to the different stories, I realized this was part of their life. It is everybody's responsibility to take care of one another. We heard of young men, getting to work right away, at the homes of elderly people. We watched as people, that don't have much, shared what they did have with neighbours. Nobody thought about the individual. It was all about making the community strong.


Over drinks, I asked a friend why he didn't leave Cuba. His family has the money, he is of Spanish descent and he has moved freely around the globe, using his Cuban passport. He response was very simple. "If all the good people leave, how do we get change? I love being Cuban. I would never desert my family or community." This was the answer I heard again and again. Nobody wants to leave, they want things to be better.


My Cuban friends always teach me valuable lessons. I'm not comparing things here to their struggles in Cuba. I am holding onto their positive attitudes.


Why am I fighting for a higher voter turnout? If I don't do it, who will? I might get beat down but I am stubborn. Hubby will attest to this fact! I was born and raised here and I will not give up on Windsor. Vote for a stronger community. Vote for better representation. If you have no other reason to vote, vote because I asked you to do this for me.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page