top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Attention Candidates

I am an engaged Windsorite. I'm not in as many organizations as I'd like nor do I get to City Hall as often as I want because of health issues. I do watch TV, stream webisodes and podcasts, listen to the radio and read. I try my best to stay informed and I'm not shy about asking questions. I want to learn. I want to understand.


With a municipal election this year, I've been pushing myself a bit harder. In 2014, I didn't believe 37% voter turnout was acceptable. In 2018, I desperately want it higher. A higher voter turnout leads to a more representative council. During my campaign to 'Promote the Vote!', I've learned a couple things I'd like to share with Candidates.


  • Candidates should not lie. They will be found out. This seems like common sense but there are some people running for office who need to do more fact checking before they open their mouth.

  • Candidates are vying for office. Citizens give candidates power.

  • ALL citizens, even those that Candidates don't agree with or might not even like, deserve representation.

  • Repeating your campaign slogan over and over and over again, is NOT a platform. It deflects from the issues and demonstrates you don't have a real answer.

  • Candidates are INVITED to attend forums. When a Candidate confirms attendance, including the Q&A following the debate, don't run for the door with your entourage. (And if you bring a group of people, at least one of them should be from the Ward or Windsor.)

  • All candidates must learn to practice patience. Constituents have the right to ask a complete question without getting cut off. You, as a candidate, expect this. Return the courtesy.

  • A Candidate should NEVER, EVER, EVER turn their back on a citizen because he "doesn't have time for you" or disagrees with a citizen's opinion. This is bad form for an abundance of reasons; all hurtful to your campaign.

  • When behaving badly, don't do it in front of witnesses.

  • When you are losing an argument and have an audience watching you, DON'T drop Premier Doug Ford's name. It appears childish and undermines your credibility because nobody in the room believes you have him on speed dial.

When evaluating people that want your vote, DON'T take crap from anybody. Particularly when the candidate is rude and wrong. Feel comfortable knowing this obnoxious candidate won't be getting your vote. Oh, and you should feel free to share the details of the encounter with those that might support him on Election Day!


Remember to circle October 22 on your calendar and VOTE!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page