top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Day 1 is over


By all accounts, yesterday's Shop 'n' Vote event was a success. Yes, I wanted to see lines all day but I'll be happy with 1,500 people going to vote. It's a great START. Fellow citizens, I thank-you. The next Advance Poll is on Tuesday at the South Windsor Arena/Capri Pizza Rec Complex. Don't assume the candidate you would choose will win. Do your part and VOTE!


With early voting starting, I spent my days wandering about town, talking to the people. I chatted on Facebook and I used my phone to make calls and have conversations. I heard things that were both funny and worrisome.


I encountered a couple of disenfranchised seniors that had concerns about Banwell Road. I encouraged them to call their candidates and ask their questions. I even offered to connect them with the challengers in Ward 7. This where the fun started. They didn't know if they should bother voting because things don't change. Then they asked about this IREK fellow that had signs everywhere. Did I believe he could do more than Councillor Kusmierczyk? Ugh! Irek is Councillor Kusmierczyk.


Windsorites are not engaged. Challengers can't reach everybody. In Ward 1, I was asked if there was anyone running against the incumbent. NO candidate is being acclaimed. Yes, there are some fantastic female candidates in Ward 1! Get out there and meet them.


It's just shy of two weeks and many of our citizens STILL don't care about the election. I believe the challengers are campaigning hard. I do think they are reaching out to as many people as possible but nobody campaigns alone. It is up to YOU and I to get out the VOTE. We MUST get as many new voters to the polls as we can. We can't stop yet!!


While you are overeating this weekend and listing things for which you are grateful, think about your right to vote. Think about how offensive not-voting might be to those that died to ensure we had free elections.


Gobble, Gobble!!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page