top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Drum roll please!


First and foremost, before any candidate or any cause, I promote voting. If you're like me and want change, not only must we vote, we must bring young people with us. If you think maintaining the status quo is good, it's important you get to the polls to support your preferred candidate so people like me, shut up. I can't support elected representatives when they are chosen by so few.


The disclaimer: if voter turnout is the same as in 2014 or drops, Windsor will have the same council less Bill Marra and Hilary Payne.


These are my predictions, my hopes and dreams, my wishes for a better Windsor, as long as voter turnout increased by a minimum of 1%.

MAYOR: Matt Marchand for so many reasons! If you are a Dilkens fan, let’s have coffee and talk about it. I want to know why Dilkens should be my Mayor. I have to base my choice on his past performance because the only campaigning I saw from him was the billboard on Dougall. He did nothing during debates except insult Marchand and tell the audience that a vote for Marchand was too risky. Matt Marchand for Mayor!!


WARD 1: There are 2 fabulous candidates in this ward and the incumbent isn’t one of them. This ward demonstrates how we tend to vote out people rather than vote an individual into office. Krysta Glovasky-Risdale and Darcie Renaud are great choices with very different platforms. Most notably, Glovasky-Risdale talks about Ojibway and our green spaces. Renaud focuses on student housing directories. These two women are the ONLY candidates for consideration. Ward 1 wins either way.


WARD 2: As John Elliot, nor any of his supporters, have accepted my offer to have coffee and discuss what he has done for the city, I predict Fabio Costante in Ward 2. I can’t imagine a world where people are satisfied with the job done by Elliott. I repeat, Elliott CANNOT count what he does at STAG as wins for the city. STAG is his job and he is paid to complete certain projects. Fabio will not only be a voice for Ward 2 but for the city.


WARD 3: Rino Bortolin. Thanks to the other candidates for forcing a forum and discussing issues but I don’t feel Bortolin ever did anything to put himself in jeopardy. He’s a strong voice for many of Windsor’s forgotten souls.


WARD 4: Chris Holt. Thanks Janice Campbell for throwing in your name. Nobody should every be acclaimed. However, I don’t think I’m wrong in suggesting Holt is Windsor’s favourite Councillor. Holt has worked hard to prove himself. He didn’t have a great deal more support than Adrioano Ciotoli back in 2014. He did work his ass off over the last four years to rightfully earn his place at the Council table.

WARD 5: This is tough to call. I think it will be Joey Wright or Adam Castle. The outcome will be determined by who was better at motivating people to get to the polls. Getting permission for a sign or support at a door or even a LIKE on FB is different than getting people to get off their butts and vote. If Joey or Adam win, I believe Marchand will be Mayor. This is an incredibly important riding. Ward 5 can’t lose if Adam or Joey win. Read their platforms. I support Joey while Hubby stands behind Adam. For the record, we are Ward 10 residents.


WARD 6: If I believe the professional politicos, JAG is going to be re-elected; some say handily. To quote Mythbusters “I reject your version of reality and substitute it with one of my own.Jeff Denomme in Ward 6. I feel it’s going to be closer than anybody, including JAG, thinks it will be. Rather than campaign aggressively, she believes her base will choose her again. If Denomme can get the youth vote out, get these young people to the polls, he will win. Again, a Denomme win does not bode well for the Mayor.


WARD 7: This is the ward I hear about the least. Until the campaign started, I thought Kusmierczyk was a lock. The campaign itself surprised me. While I saw and heard a great deal from Marignani, I didn’t hear much about Kusmierczyk. I did visit with residents and I was shocked when I had to explain the big green IREK signs were Councillor Kusmierczyk signs. They are the same people. I don’t know how this will translate at the ballot box. As Irek is the incumbent, I give it to him. He didn’t do anything horrible to cause the voters to lose faith. Ward 7 is fortunate in the fact that either Angelo or Irek is a win.


WARD 8: My brain is on overload. I’ve heard many of them predicted as winners, yet I know there will be only 1. I can make a case for most. They were brave enough to enter the election. They all want to see a better Windsor. They all have tough shoes to fill. Bill Marra was probably the favourite Councillor, he passed the crown on to Chris Holt. Then the three big questions: Who do I want to win? Who do I think is most qualified for the position? Who do I think will win? The only thing I know for sure is that I’m glad I’m not in that ward.


WARD 9: I don’t accept people in Ward 9 like Hilary Payne. There can’t be a lot of supporters out there because I’ve been looking for them. I don’t believe vote splitting will be an issue here either. At this time, the only thing I’ve heard that prevents people from voting for Kieran is his association with the NDP. I remind everybody, while choice of political party is an element of every one’s personality, party politics should not be at play in municipal politics. Kieran McKenzie, handily.


WARD 10: to be continued. This is my ward so I must think carefully.


Friends make friends vote. Be a friend on October 22.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page