top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Make change happen

And the final Advance Poll is open at the WFCU Centre. This is a repetitive message, but if you miss today you still have the General Election on October 22. If something happens between now and October 22, you can vote by Proxy. Easy Peasy!!


I received a text from a friend today and subtly, she pointed out my message was not getting through. She sent me a message letting me know she and the family voted. She didn't need any more messages from me. My reminders were never to get her to vote, I knew she would fulfill her civic duty. My message is about getting her and the family to get four other people to the polls; voters that didn't cast ballot in 2014. It is the latter who will decide the 2018 election.


Let me be direct. Crystal clear. To the point. Plain as day.


If voter turnout is not increased, Windsor will have the same Council and Mayor for the next term. For change to happen, eligible voters that didn't go to the polls in 2014 MUST vote this time around.


There is no group, organization or association responsible for getting people to the polls. Theory assumes responsible government representatives engage with the public. Sadly, our current Councillors don't share this view. It is an absolute imperative that we, you and I, people that voted in 2014, get others to the ballot box. We, you and I, need to make things happen.


Circle October 22 on your calendar. Go stand in front of your house and holler for the non-voters in your neighbourhood. Go to your laundry room, work place, favourite store, restaurant or bowling alley. Find a person, just ONE individual that didn't vote in 2014 and explain to them why their voice matters. Explain they deserve better. Tell them you'll drive them to the polls on OCTOBER 22. Let them know they can be the change Windsor needs.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page