top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

My blog. My opinion. Must read.


There are some people who believe those not understanding municipal politics shouldn't vote. I don't agree. EVERY VOTE COUNTS, EVERY VOICE MATTERS. No body is responsible for getting voters to the polls except the candidates. And you and I, of course. We must assume if a candidate takes a person to the polls, that particular individual is going to vote for that particular candidate. Everyone else going to the polls either has voted since age 18 or is so aggravated by something or someone or some issue, they want change. To one degree or another, everybody that votes knows a little something.


This being said, people need to go to the polls based on facts, not fantasy. We will never all agree. It's hard to make a unanimous decision sitting on a committee of 7, never mind expecting it from the entire electorate. However, our opinions and feelings MUST be based on FACT and not the musings of a politician.


Here is how I formed my OPINION. You don't have to consider the same things. I only ask that you vote on October 22. In every ward, there are alternatives to the incumbents. For this exercise, I'll use the Mayor. This is the only office the entire city has the opportunity to elect.


  1. Am I happy with the state of the city? NO

  2. What can I do about it? Advocate change.

  3. Do I believe the current Mayor listens to the majority of the residents? NO. I believe he listens to those he is confident will re-elect him.


Already, I know I am NOT voting for the incumbent. Fortunately, Windsor has a fantastic alternative in Matt Marchand.


Every candidate CHOOSES to run for election. Not a single individual is forced to run for Mayor or Councillor. Once this choice is made, they accept to live their public lives, (some will argue in their private lives as well) in accordance with certain rules and polices. There are certain expectations of these people. Number one is to stick to the facts. I won't say any incumbent lies but they can definitely misdirect.


I've seen the mayoral debates at the WFCU and at the Fogolar. I've listened to NJD and the CBC debate. The incumbent has done nothing to make me vote for him. He continually attacks Mr. Marchand and tells us it's too risky. Although he refers to his twelve year record, let's all remember he's only been the mayor for FOUR years. The wins he claims as his, have been the hard work of many individuals. They are wins for the city, not him personally.


He even politicized the arrival of Quicken Loans to Windsor. He should have celebrated the arrival of a new business and kept his opinions about the parking spots to himself. The arrival of Quicken Loans helped him justify the parking spots. After all, hindsight is 20/20.

  • the handling of the proposed single site hospital

  • Bright Lights

  • additional investment required at WFCU

  • money losing Adventure Bay

I have a long list if anybody is interested.


His worst offence is his failure to lead. A Mayor should bring together a city. He should be forthright and honest. He should want to be respected, even if he is not liked. When campaigning, he MUST stick to facts. He had mislead the population at every possible opportunity. Dilkens continues to divide the city. He is neither liked or respected. He continues to repeat the same rhetoric with little and sometimes no proof to his claims.


On October 22, I will proudly vote for Matt Marchand.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page