top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Rules, a necessary evil

As the municipal campaign gets into full swing, front runners are trying to make their mark and the incumbents are finally getting into the game. Most of current Council is beginning to realize getting re-elected won't be a walk in the park. It is important to remember, MY ideal council may not be YOUR dream council. This is why those reading, plus the voters we know that didn't vote in 2014, MUST get to the polls in October.


The electoral process is designed to favour the incumbent. It is said our votes put our elected representatives in office but the truth is, elections are about voting individuals out of office. A by-product of the system is to choose the replacement.


I'm a ward 10 resident. It is not a secret. It is also no secret that I am trying desperately to increase voter turnout, particularly in Ward 10. Up to this point and time, I've made my best effort to stay neutral and give all Ward 10 candidates equal consideration, including the incumbent. This stops today!


I will use Paul Borrelli as an example of how to evaluate a candidate.


First, his performance in office. A great, big F! Nope, I don't feel represented. From the day he voted against an independent AG until the evening he rambled on about autonomous cars at the mega hospital, mega meeting. I wrote him an email, voicing my opinions against the Christmas lights and I know neighbours that did the same. He sat in council chambers and said he never heard a complaint from his constituents. He does not respond to emails, at least not in a timely fashion. I'd never heard anything from Council. This year, an election year, I get a Happy Easter email. I can assure you, I was ticked. Four years of ignoring me but I'm wished a Happy Easter? Borrelli has spent the most of all Councillors, for the most travelling, and I have no idea what he brings to my city.


Next, how is his campaign being run? F! Borrelli either knows the rules and chooses to ignore them or he is incapable of understanding them. Another Ward 10 has brought up issues with Borrelli's campaign cards. I do feel Borrelli's cards, while not breaking any rules, is not ethical. I find it offensive to use the City's logo. His card absolutely looks like a mailing from the city. The legality of the card can be debated. This letter from Windsor's Chief Building Inspector specifies:

d. Election signs cannot be placed on roofs, fences, utility poles, or fastened to any tree.


Dominion and Totten.

If he can't play by the rules, do I want him speaking for me? NO!


There are more signs, but I feel one makes the point. Whether he didn't know them or disregarded them, no matter. Both failings make him dangerous.


Once I look at how he has performed and how he is conducting his campaign, I ask if he's representative of the people I know in Windsor. NO!


Finally, I ask "What does Borrelli add to council?" He likes to compare things to the private sector so I can reword this to read "Can he be easily replaced?" Yup!! I've already determined I don't have to look at specific issues. His behaviour alone warrants his replacement.


How do I do this? I talk to my neighbours and the other candidates. When I discover someone does support Borrelli, I ask why?


Look at your candidates. Find the best fit. Vote on October 22!!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page