top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Voters, your attention please

I'm very tired. I'm doing what I need to, in order to promote Windsor's vote and increase voter turnout. I'm also trying to make sure all candidates are playing by the same rules. An election always favours the incumbent so the least the incumbents can do is follow the rules, created by an Election Clerk under their watch. In a city this size, with less than approximately 160,000 voters, politics shouldn't be this hard. Things need to change!


This election, Windsor has been blessed with a full slate of candidates. These are people willing to give their voice to you. The only thing harder than being a Councillor, is campaigning to be elected. They need to be recognized. Some candidates I agree with and some I don't. BUT fabulous conversations have been started. New people bringing new ideas to the table is what elections are about.


If you feel the status-quo should be maintained, that's your right. I'd like to invite you for a coffee and talk about the state of Windsor but you get to VOTE for whomever you feel best represents your interests. The best part of a democracy is you don't have to explain your VOTE to anybody. There's a house down the street with both a RE-THINK and DILKENS sign. We call it the oxymoron home. I don't have to agree or understand. Every voter, tucked behind a secrecy screen, picks whichever candidates they want, and nobody will ever know the choices made.


Whoever you want, the new or the old, you've got to VOTE. All candidates, incumbents and challengers alike, are putting themselves through hell, to earn the privilege of representing you and I. This is a big deal!! I'm only trying to get people to the polls. I'm not promoting a candidate or any issue. I am getting nasty emails. I am getting called names. I am facing unfounded accusations every, single day. Imagine what confronts the challengers.


The best way to show your appreciation to these amazing individuals is to go to the polls. You can't make a mistake or choose wrong. You can use the ballot to put your voice behind the candidate of your choice. You can use your vote to say thank-you, for wanting to make Windsor a better place to live.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page