top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

Where we are now


Let's recap...


In WARD 1, the candidates (less the incumbent) discussed and debated on RCP. I think there is another Round Table before the election. Get to know the names Krysta Glovasky-Risdale and Darcie Renaud. One of these women deserves your vote simply because they showed up. If an incumbent can't be bothered to attend a half hour discussion, I can't be bothered to consider giving him a vote.


WARD 2 has a similar situation. The incumbent refuses to debate Fabio Costante because Fabio's home is not in Ward 2. Mr. Costante did grow up in Sandwich and has his law practice on Sandwich Street. If I lived in Ward 2, the incumbent loses my vote my failing to debate. It's fantastic Ward 2 has a qualified alternative.


WARD 3 is garnering a lot of attention in the media. Elections should not play out in the press, but this ward includes our city's core. Rino Bortolin has been forced to discuss what has been done and what else he'd like to do for his neighbourhood. Helmi Charif and Steve Palenkas have been quiet.


WARD 4 includes Walkerville but shares a border with Ward 3. The issues of homelessness and addiction are taking over parking as the number one topic being discussed. Chris Holt is taking nothing for granted and campaigning hard. Janice Campbell is out there putting pressure on the incumbent. I appreciate her for no other reason than that I don't feel any elected representative should ever be acclaimed. She is making Councillor Holt earn your vote.


WARD 5 had an All Candidates meeting. We are fortunate RCP has made it available for podcast. This will be an exciting race to watch. Ward 5 had a miserable voter turnout of 33%. There are lots of eligible voters to motivate. I feel Mr. Sleiman has served his constituents well but it's time for a different voice at City Hall.


WARD 6 candidates are just starting to push hard. Jeff Denomme and Terry Yaldo both have events coming up. It's interesting to note the incumbent has decided not to make a 'get to know the candidates' video. The production of these videos was offered to all candidates. It's interesting to note which incumbents don't feel Windsorites are worth the effort of a three minute video


WARD 7 is another race I feel will be interesting. The only challenger I hear about is Angelo Marignani. I had to remind myself there are two other choices: Albert Saba and Barbara Holland.


WARD 8 will be wild until the last ballot is counted. There is no incumbent, leaving the race wide open. Please, get to know these people and tell them how they could earn your vote. Ask questions! Evaluate their answers and their ability to keep you engaged.


WARD 9 challenger Kiernan McKenzie is on a roll. He's a familiar face in local politics. It will be interesting to see if there is any debate or round table with the incumbent. The current councillor is now past his expiration date. Ward 9 deserves a voice at City Hall.


WARD 10 is where I live and therefore will not comment. I will say I am terrified of vote splitting. My mind can't comprehend a world with Councillor Borrelli for another four years. No way! I can't believe or accept I'm part of a neighbourhood that would choose that man, again. We have fantastic alternatives this election.


There are many events coming up. Advance Polls open on Saturday. Get involved! Become engaged! Introduce a newbie to politics. VOTE!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page